Reviews & Comments


aka. the little guestbook. :-)  - If you want to leave a comment about your experience with ACD, please feel free to share a few words. 

Comments: 128
  • #128

    James Hansford-White (Thursday, 11 July 2024 12:21)

    I am absolutely blown away by the Ultimate Drive Shaft, thank you Dennis for the incredible craftsmanship and overall build quality. My left pedal feels noticeably smoother/effortless compared with my stock drive shaft. Thank you also for the great customer service. I suspect you might hear from me soon about Darwins :)

  • #127

    Ron Mai (Friday, 05 July 2024 17:48)

    I woke up early this morning, on my 70th birthday, to a note from Dennis that my universal drive shaft, and remote hi-hat had shipped…
    What a wonderful way to start my day!
    The artful machining and thought that goes into every aspect of the product is why ACD is my go-to for the greatest drum hardware on the planet
    Thanks Dennis, for your hard work!
    Ron

  • #126

    Marvan (Thursday, 27 June 2024 03:20)

    Just received adapters for may ACD Darwin drive shafts! 5 days form ordering to delivery to the US! Unheard of! These drive shafts are w/o question the best in the business! Thank you Dennis for your innovative vision, craftsmanship!

  • #125

    Nicolas Riegel (Tuesday, 25 June 2024 09:08)

    Best Quality with the best Service!
    Schnell und persönlich �
    Nothing to complain about!!
    Perfectly organized ��
    ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    The Real Deal! Thanks heaps Dennis, you’re the man!! ❤️
    Kann’s absolut jedem empfehlen! �

  • #124

    Jason (Tuesday, 18 June 2024 22:29)

    Very pleasant experience dealing with ACD.Im blown away at how fast I received my Direct drive Iron Cobra upgrade from Austria to So.Cal.. also impressed with the build quality.Nice work Sir,Dennis is a pedal Wizard!!

  • #123

    Sal (Saturday, 15 June 2024 17:04)

    The Ultimate Drive Shaft is amazing and worth every penny! I observe zero difference in beater swing between the main and slave pedals for the first 4-5 swings on my Tama Speed Cobras. Most importantly, I get same performance even when I put the pedal at angle (which is often necessary when setting up in tight spaces). The difference between this and stock shaft is night and day. I cannot recommend this product enough!

  • #122

    Michael Kitchens (Sunday, 09 June 2024 18:17)

    Dennis is a true craftsman and makes the best pedal I have ever used. Every component is well thought out and formed to perfection. Besides the product Dennis makes the experience much better with his kindness and care of the craft, this differs greatly from buying from large brands. Best wishes to your future.

  • #121

    BryanForceDrums (Monday, 03 June 2024 11:56)

    Dennis is an absolute wizard and the best in the business. His upgrades for all different types/brands of pedals are just world class. Not only that, but he is an incredibly nice and caring person who genuinely wants everyone who visits or shops his store to leave happy. 10 out of 10.

  • #120

    Mane (Monday, 03 June 2024 11:12)

    I‘m using the Darwin Double Pedal live and at home for several years now and didn‘t run into a single issue with them. Absolutly well crafted product with tons of options, great functionality and astonishing looks. Working with Dennis is beyond compare - every task is handled in not time and he has smart solution for everthing!

    Also got some upgrades for my speedcobra which definetly take the pedals on another level!

    Always my pleasure, 100% recommendation!!

  • #119

    Hannes (Tuesday, 28 May 2024 16:06)

    Just got my Phantom Shortboard double pedal with strap drive! I have been loking for a new pedal to replace my Speed Cobra for ages, I have tried Tama Dynasync, Axis Longboard, Pearl Demondrive, Pearl XR and Yamaha FP9 but they all felt wrong.
    The Phantoms are perfect, the exponential resistance in the springs allows you to play both powerful slower singles and fast heel-toe stuff without any compromises, it is light and snappy, and the build quality is superb!
    Keep up the good work!
    /Hannes
    Raven Banner (SE)

  • #118

    Carter Pochynok (Tuesday, 21 May 2024 01:59)

    Absolutely floored by the quality of ACD components! Coming from a family of aerospace engineers and having a close friend who is an aerospace machinist, I've learned the signs of quality work AND THIS IS IT. As a drum tech, I've begun recommending these products to clients seeking more performance out of their high-end pedals.

    Judging by the slight markings of a CNC end mill, I'd say that these are all billet-machined from aerospace grade metals down to the tension rods... AND HE'S NOT EVEN ADVERTISING THAT!!

    The fact that my mods showed up on my birthday with some nice candies in the box really just put the icing on the cake. Couldn't be more pleased with my experience.

    Dennis, if you read this: YOU ARE THE MAN. Keep up the great work!!

  • #117

    Elias (Thursday, 16 May 2024 15:32)

    I've bought the ACD Drive Shaft because my Tama (Speed Cobra 910) one started to get stuck at the right side of the bearings (The side which connects to the main Pedal)
    So I always heard about the ACD Drive Shaft and finally decited to go and buy one.
    I am more than happy and I can reccomend the Drive Shaft as a Metal Drummer, who needs a fast respond from the slave Pedal as well.
    Since my footboard is starting to get cracks out of nowhere, I will probabl buy myself the Darwin Footboard as well :) . \w/

  • #116

    Brennan (Tuesday, 07 May 2024 22:09)

    Just got the beater shifter and the spring geometry upgrade for my Tama Dyna-Sync pedal, and wow. The difference is mind blowing. My bass drum head is no longer rubbed by the direct drive pulley bc the beater shifter allows the beater to be close enough not to have to tilt my drum as much to get rid of the obtuse angle. The spring geometry upgrade allows me to implement speed, dynamics and control like never before. Dennis knows what he’s doing like none of the major manufacturers do, and I’m so stoked that he makes hardware fixes and upgrades so accessible!

  • #115

    Jörg (Friday, 03 May 2024 10:48)

    Hey,
    ich habe seit ein paar Wochen die Game Changer in Betrieb. Was soll ich sagen, einfach perfekt! Durch die super feine Einstellung am Rädchen, musste ich am Modul gar nichts ändern.
    Vielen Dank an Dennis, für den sehr netten Kontakt und auch die schnelle Lieferung.

  • #114

    Ethan Breithaupt (Thursday, 02 May 2024 15:58)

    Dennis was great t work with. I could not be happier. The pedals are well worth the wait.

  • #113

    Ian (Thursday, 02 May 2024 10:57)

    I don't really leave reviews but feel compelled to do so. I've been playing on and off for almost 40 years. In that time, I've used an Iron Cobra, Speed Cobra, DW 9000, Trick Pro 1V, Rogers Dynomatic, Pearl Demon Drive and P2000, Tama HP50, PDP Concept, Offset Middle Pedal, Sonor Giant Step Single and Middle and numerous others I can't recall. I managed to find a used strap drive Darwin FTW pedal. This also came with the Fat Boy cam (using that and is perfect). All I can say is don't wait, just buy one! I'm mainly a heal down player (playing funk, pop and rock) and without doubt, this is the very best pedal I've every used by a long, long way. It literally feels like it is an extension of my foot. Amazing build quality and having dealt with Dennis before, the product support I'd second to none.

    If you're buying new, they are absolutely worth the price and wait!

  • #112

    Adam (Wednesday, 24 April 2024 21:53)

    The ultimate drive shaft is amazing! A 10/10 upgrade for my pedal! Thank you so much Dennis!
    Cheers from Hungary!

  • #111

    Kacper (Thursday, 18 April 2024 13:10)

    Dennis is the guy! Despite some delay he stayed in touch and informed me about everything. Everything went smoothly and he is ready to help always :D

  • #110

    Matthew Maloney (Tuesday, 16 April 2024 15:21)

    Dennis is a Master Craftsman and a genuinely nice guy! ( I'm glad that it happens to be drum equipment.) :P Thanks, Dennis!

  • #109

    Philip Boccabella (Wednesday, 10 April 2024 15:32)

    Dennis is a pleasure to deal with.Prompt, exact……a proud innovator.

  • #108

    Mathieu (Thursday, 28 March 2024 09:56)

    I got your package yesterday and got to try them out a little.
    The Darwins are the best I ever played with, by a long shot. I didn't even take time to mess with the settings appart from switching to the heavy springs.
    The pedals work great a every tempo. Never felt myself struggling against the pedal at precise tempo. From slow to fast, i feel that I have total control over what's going on. Particularly agreeable.
    I can feel every impact. I feared that coming from direct drive to strap drive I would loose the feeling of the drumhead under my foot. I don't know how you did it but it's better with the strap drive. Even at high tempo I can feel every impact through my feet.
    They are perfectly balanced. When I play with the pedal alone (no kickdrum, no pad, nothing), the pedal stays perfectly still. Doing so with the Dominator makes the pedal wobble from left to right. Surely a big wast of energy.
    The build quality is incredible. Such object is pure wizardry.

    I can't wait to mess with the settings and find the perfect tuning.
    Until then, thank you very much for taking the time, effort and brainpower to make such an amazing pedal.

    Cheers !
    Mathieu

  • #107

    Boris Gordiyenko (Wednesday, 27 March 2024 19:24)

    I first came across ACD when I was looking for ways to improve a set of Axis longboards. And boy did Dennis deliver on that front. After replacing the driveshaft, heel blocks and beaters with the ACD ones it was like an entirely new much improved pedal. That initial purchase really got me interested in the brand and other products that ACD offered. And after watching some videos about the Darwin, I just knew that I had to have one someday. I now own two of them, one in strap drive and one in the direct drive configuration and I can say hands down they are by far the best pedals I have ever had the pleasure of playing. None of the other high end direct drive pedals that I've bought and subsequently sold have come close to the features and playability of the Darwin. Coupled with the Game Changer triggers, I could not dream of a better set-up. Thank you Dennis and ACD for all you've done and continue to do for the metal drumming community �

  • #106

    Joan (Sunday, 10 March 2024 17:05)

    Phantom double arrived last Thursday, and I had a concert scheduled for Friday, so my thought was I would use my trusted Demon chains, because you know, I was going to need some days to adjust my feet to the feel of the new pedals. Well, I went to the practice studio to pack up things for Friday, but couldn't resist at least trying a little the Phantoms, and man! WHAT AN AMAZING MACHINE YOU BUILT!
    Used it for 10 minutes, put the Demons back in the bass drum and immediately hated them, so I went with the Phantoms live, and I couldn't be happier and more comfortable (haven't touched the settings out of the box so far)

    So, thank you for building amazing pedals, and I'm definitely getting the phantom case once you have it ready. I'm even considering a second phantom double in the future for the Edrum and as a backup

    Cheers and best wishes from Spain

  • #105

    Markus (Friday, 01 March 2024 16:12)

    The universal drive shaft is fenominal. Verry good work...
    Thanks for this grate Upgrade for my Tama Speed Cobra...

  • #104

    Bob Nelson (Friday, 01 March 2024 06:38)

    Dennis and his crew are solid! Any repair/ question / general issue concerning ACD gear is always immediately addressed and rectified. Always support independent small business. ACD is innovation. Innovation is progress. Thank you!

  • #103

    Thibaud (Tuesday, 27 February 2024 17:14)

    Second order to Dennis, always good advice, really good product and such a nice guy.
    It's a pleasure !

  • #102

    Robert Brasted (Tuesday, 27 February 2024 05:57)

    I Purchased the ACD Darwin FTW double back in Jan. 2023 and just received it about 3 weeks ago and let me tell you this pedal is well worth the wait. The pedal is a beast! It feels awesome under my foot and i feel like i play much better with this pedal. I have had pedals from dw, Trick, Axis, Pearl and Tama and none of them come close to the feel of this pedal. Dennis is awesome as well and answered all my questions and concerns i had before purchase. Very Happy Customer.

  • #101

    Aki Koskinen (Friday, 23 February 2024 15:49)

    Bought spring geometry and ultimate drive shaft upgrades for Pearl Eliminators. Thank you Dennis! Both are great upgrades that unleash the full potential of the pedals.

  • #100

    Davide (Thursday, 22 February 2024 15:20)

    I gave had my ACD Phantom double pedal for about a week now and I still can't believe how amazing this product is. I got the longboards with the strap drive. The response is phenomenal, thanks to the combination of spring geometry, large linear cam and the lightness of the strap. The driveshaft with its high quality bearings is so smooth they might as well be two single pedals. Every single detail about these pedals is so thoughtful and brilliant, and dare I say, sometimes even revolutionary. Even my band mates were speechless, especially the one who knows about metal artisanship and what it entails.
    I cannot recommend the Phantom enough. I will be bringing mine with me everywhere I play.

  • #99

    David Gonzales (Thursday, 22 February 2024 09:00)

    I love ACD these guys are amazing and there gear so quality you can’t go wrong I got the Direct drive and spring kit for my Tama Speed cobras what a huge difference Thank you looking forward to getting more gear from these guys and great costumer service the next day my stuff was shipped

  • #98

    Antoine (Friday, 16 February 2024 05:04)

    I just received the parcel yesterday, felt like being a child at Christmas time :D
    I'd like to SPECIALLY thank you for the extra biscuit and sweets, what a great attention to packaging !

    Then comes the pedals. And as expected, after a little quick setup, they deliver.
    Man, I don't know where to start... The overall smoothness of operation, the ease of changing every setting, the spring response... When you play 15 years with the same gear, There are details that you overlook, you're used to it. And then you decide to change, and you re-discover every little detail, it all feels different, but in a very pleasant way !
    It's so smooth and pleasant I'd strap my feet to the boards and wear 'em as shoes :D

    It lands heavier strokes than the Axis, but still you can get very fast, 250 BPM feels like a breeze.

    I still have to tinker a little bit with it to tune it perfectly, but I can already feel how qualitative it is.
    What a refreshing and phenomenal piece of hardware !!
    That's awesome and smart work you've been putting in the conception of those pedals.
    Feels like a love letter to every existing drummer :D
    Axis ? Trick drums ? Demon XR ? Dyna-Sync ...? Never heard of 'em !
    I'd safely say the ACD Phantom is the way to go.

    Thank you very much Dennis, you made another drummer whole again today :)

  • #97

    Wally (Thursday, 08 February 2024 09:29)

    Transaction is very fast and Dennis is very assistive.
    He answers all my questions about the product very fast.

    I will be using my Axis pedal using my new Ultimate Drive Shaft and Heel block while waiting for my Darwin pedals.

    Thank you very much ACD!!!!!

  • #96

    Ani (Wednesday, 07 February 2024 23:23)

    BEAUTY IN SIMPLICITY!!
    Just got the axis heel block upgrades about a week ago, such a beautifully crafted part but still so simple that it makes you think why can't the original manufacturers think of these things. Dennis is truly a lifesaver with these nifty creations. Always a pleasure to speak to him and his passion is really reflected in his work.
    Super fast shipping!! Great product!! Incredible person(Dennis)!! Can't ask for much more.

    Cheers!!!

  • #95

    Marvan (Friday, 19 January 2024 22:23)

    Dennis continues to be extremely thoughtful, caring w/customers. I had a “break” between ordering & paying for order. He messaged me to see if I had an issue or got hung. Without knowing he sent links to help! Thx Dennis, much love to you & your top of the line products!

  • #94

    Dan (Thursday, 18 January 2024 10:57)

    Huge shout out the main man Dennis.

    I had some problems with the connections on my double pedal bar and he sent out replacements right away to the UK.

    The service and communication was 10/10

  • #93

    Þórður Gunnarsson (Monday, 15 January 2024 20:09)

    Ordered the ultimate driveshaft for my speedcobras and it took only 3.days to arrive from when it was shipped so very fast delivery and there was even some candy in the box!

    that driveshaft is a masterpiece was blown away with how much difference it makes from the original driveshaft and for the first time I really can’t tell the difference on the pedals both feel exactly the same

    Thank you very much Dennis and I will be ordering again

  • #92

    Erik (Friday, 12 January 2024 19:21)

    Perfect Service and high Quality product. I got longboard conversions for my lefty Tama Speed Cobra and it fits and works better than ever before.

    Thanks for the fast delivery and the Little biscuits too.

  • #91

    Kevin Lützenbürger (Monday, 25 December 2023 02:22)

    I ordered an Ultimate Driveshaft, and couldn't be happier. Delivery was good and quick, and I don't think there's further need to talk about the build quality and engineering. Absolutely flawless.

  • #90

    Wally Santos (Tuesday, 19 December 2023 08:43)

    Already had the heel block for my pedal and the performance is superb! Now I tried ordering the ultimate drive shaft with its add-on parts! Assistance and customer service is the best! Very far from the support I am having from the company where my existing pedal came from. Looking forward to get my order!

    Kudos to you Dennis and team!

    P.S. very excited on my DARWIN next year! �

  • #89

    Kyle C (Tuesday, 05 December 2023 20:06)

    Got some ACD Phantoms recently, and they can leave a man speechless. These pedals are perfect. I don't think I will ever play another pedal again. I had a Pearl Eliminator with an ACD driveshaft, and direct drive upgrade before I got the Phantoms, and they were also FANTASTIC with the upgrades from Dennis. I can say that I recommend ACD to every drummer I have met. Dennis not only is great at his work, but he is also a great person. He was fantastic to work with, and there were absolutely no issues along the way. ACD FOREVER! �

  • #88

    Dwayne B (Tuesday, 28 November 2023 11:36)

    I ordered the Speed Cobra Direct Drive conversion kit for my double pedal, and I am blown away even after setting them up for the first time. I still need to tweak my pedals a little to work the way I want, but I've noticed a difference already the improvement this has made to my pedal. The original chains feel heavier than this new conversion, I even noticed this when I was installing the new Direct Drive on my pedals, the chains just feel like dead weight.

    Before the Speed Cobra, I used an AXIS pedal that had direct drive, but I decided to buy a new Speed Cobra for the fact it had more flexibility on how I could set it up. One thing I did love about the AXIS pedals however was the direct drive. Not only has Dennis (ACD) given me the opportunity to change the Speed Cobras to a direct drive, but he also provided a VERY high quality product. You can notice the attention to detail Dennis has put into making this product, it's second to none.

    I've been drumming on and off for over 30 years now, and I can notice when something is quality, THIS IS 100% QUALITY!! I recommend ANYBODY that has a Speed/Iron Cobra pedal to look into the Direct Drive conversion for your pedal, you won't regret it.

  • #87

    Will kumar (Friday, 24 November 2023 16:47)

    Amazing products, quick delivery and phenomenal customer service. Even got some free biscuits!! Thanks so much Dennis, you legend.

  • #86

    Lucian Cioarga (Wednesday, 22 November 2023 09:13)

    A few years ago I discovered ACD unlimited, bought a midle Offset pedal and was super excited about the products and service! I immediately ordered my Darwin middle pedal and asked Dennis to change my gimbal from a pedal for cahon! Now 11/22/2023, I received a message that the double pedal Phantom is on its way! I'm super excited about all the ACD products, thank you so much Dennis for everything, you're a cool guy and a brilliant mechanical engineer!
    Cheers!

  • #85

    Philip P. (Wednesday, 22 November 2023 07:42)

    I recently recieved my Phantoms and couldn't try them out on my drums yet, but opening the package, taking the pedals out and having a look at all the details was a joy already. Thanks also for the little handwritten notes for being careful with some screws and also the chocolate!
    Communication was really good and fast, orderingprocess rather easy and packaging was really good.

    At another point I had an issue with my cobra enhancements in the past, support from Dennis was Top service.
    I'm a really happy customer and cant wait to try out my Phantoms and find my right settings on them. Thanks Dennis and ACD!

  • #84

    Christoph (Thursday, 16 November 2023 21:37)

    The decision to switch to Darwin Pedals was the best decision of my life! Every single detail was planed and crafted with purpose and love. There’s nothing which could exceed my lovely Darwins. Thanks Dennis for everything!!!

  • #83

    Brian (Wednesday, 15 November 2023 21:36)

    I put the ACD R2 bias rods in my Trick Pro pedals this week. I’ve had them for four years and have changed beaters, footboards, shaft weights, and experimented with many different settings to change the feel. While I eventually got used to playing them, they never felt as comfortable as I would have liked. The R2s instantly improved the smoothness and the ability to control the pedals particularly at slower speeds. I was considering selling them but now they feel perfect to my feet. Dennis is a genius.

  • #82

    Jared (Friday, 10 November 2023 04:28)

    Bought the phantom double because I’ve wanted a ACD pedal for awhile now….took 3 weeks before I decided to sell every other pedal I had (axis, trick, speed cobra). I’ll only be using acd from now on. I’m excited to see what kind of interesting upgrades Dennis comes up with.

    Ps. Trust Dennis when he says strap drives are the overlooked drive method…highly recommend the strap drives. Both light and fast but also extremely smooth. They’re incredible

  • #81

    Travis Cook (Friday, 03 November 2023 06:17)

    INSANE UPGRADES!

    I recently purchased the spring geometry upgrade for my Tama Iron Cobras…..and let me tell you….these are THE upgrade your pedals deserve. This parts made my iron cobras feel just as responsive as a direct drive pedal with a super easy instal.

    ALSO the shipping on these items were INSANELY FAST! Coming to the USA I expected it to take some time to get here…I was wrong took a whole 4 days. 100% buying these for every pedal I own from now on.

  • #80

    Gregory Belzley (Monday, 30 October 2023 12:47)

    I recently ordered a pair of N+1 beaters and a strap conversion for my Speed Cobra double pedals. Dennis combined the order for shipping and saved me $28. That kind of customer service is very rare. And its really cool dealing directly with someone who is devoted to creating the world's best bass drum pedal. Dennis and his product really have my interest, and you can't help but want to support a great engineer and a businessman who really cares about his customers.

  • #79

    Flynn (Saturday, 28 October 2023 17:28)

    Direct drive conversion for the speed cobras are fantastic and incredibly easy to install.
    The ultimate drive shaft is absolutely insane, best response and balance I have ever seen from a slave pedal.
    Also very fast response and shipping time, you're a legend Dennis!